RESOLUTION 2011-207

RESOLUTION OF THE TOWNSHIP OF BARNEGAT, COUNTY OF OCEAN, STATE OF NEW JERSEY, SUPPORTING S-866/A-296 WHICH ESTABLISHES A NEW JERSEY COORDINATING COUNCIL ON THE DECOMMISSIONING OF NUCLEAR POWER GENERATING FACILITIES

WHEREAS, Senator Christopher J. Connors and Assemblyman Brian Rumpf and Assemblywoman Diane Gove have introduced Senate Bill No. S-866 and Assembly Bill No. A-296; and

WHEREAS, Senate Bill No. S-866 and Assembly Bill No. A-296 establishes a New Jersey Coordinating Council on the Decommissioning of Nuclear Power Generating Facilities; and

WHEREAS, the council will be charged with the coordination and review of the development and implementation of plans prepared by public utilities and governmental agencies for the decommissioning of electric generating nuclear facilities in order to ensure that the plans comply with Federal and State laws and policies; and

WHEREAS, S-866 and A-296 determines that there is an immediate need to establish a mechanism for monitoring and coordinating the development and implementation of decommissioning plans prepared by electric generating facilities in the State in order to assure compliance with applicable Federal and State laws and policies; and

WHEREAS, the Ninth Legislative District is introducing this legislation to protect the host communities where nuclear facilities are located by developing a comprehensive overall plan to avoid or significantly mitigate any associated negative economic, environmental impacts on the local area.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the Mayor and Township Committee of Township of Barnegat, County of Ocean, State of New Jersey as follows:

- 1. That the Mayor and Township Committee urges the Jersey State Legislature to support the passage of S-866 and A-296, establishing a New Jersey Coordinating Council on the Decommissioning of Nuclear Power Generating Facilities.
- 2. That a certified copy of this resolution shall be forwarded by the Municipal Clerk to Senate President Stephen Sweeny and Assembly Speaker Shelia Oliver, Senator Christopher J. Connors, Assemblyman Brian Rumpf and Assemblywoman Dianne Gove.

CERTIFICATION

I, Kathleen T. West, Municipal Clerk, of the Township of Barnegat, County of Ocean, State of
New Jersey, do hereby certify that the foregoing resolution was duly adopted by the Township
Committee of said Township at their regular meeting held on the 4 th day of April, 2011, in the
Municipal Complex, 900 West Bay Avenue, Barnegat, New Jersey.

Kathleen T. West, RMC Municipal Clerk